Hello World!

How’s that for an uninspired title for a first blog post?  

Let me introduce why I am starting this blog.  I already have another blog, lowcarbhoo.wordpress.com, but I really would like that one to stay as a repository for recipes from me and my friends.  I would like to use this blog as a springboard for discussion on current diet-related topics as well as explore how the paleo way of eating meshes with Christian beliefs.  Also, I would like this blog to be a welcome place for Christians to discuss topics related to healthy eating and living. 

I have been kicking around the idea of starting a Christian paleo blog for a while now, but recently, I had my thoughts confirmed by a post on one of my favorite blogs, Livin la Vida Low Carb.  I am a real Jimmy Moore fanboy, and I really respect his struggles with his journey, his honesty about those struggles,  as well as his belief as a Christian.  Anyway, he said the other day that the whole anti-Christian thing really needs to settle down in the paleo-sphere.  I have believed that same thing for a long time.  

To give you an example, I often hear one of my other favorite bloggers and authors, Robb Wolf, crack jokes at the Christian’s expense because some of us don’t believe in evolution.  I know that he does believe in evolution, and when he says the things he does, he is just being funny, but I think that sort of dialogue can be somewhat off-putting to a curious Christian who is beginning to research this way of eating.  

Many of us Christians already have a crisis of belief when we start to consider a way of eating that excludes one of the staples of the Bible: wheat.  It only makes it harder to approach if our beliefs are belittled by those who have so much knowledge to share but at the same time threaten our beliefs.  

This blog will be an attempt to discuss, in an open minded fashion, how it is we can reconcile our beliefs as Christians with what is ultimately the most healthy way of eating for a human.  I am excited about the possibility of open ended discussions with all walks of believers and non-believers.  There are so many different flavors of believers that I think that together, we can all grow in our faith while at the same time, grow in our understanding of how best to care for the temple that the Holy Spirit inhabits.  

I hope you will enjoy the conversations and topics that will come.  I will make it my goal to post at least once a week, if not more often.  In the mean time, peace out!

5 thoughts on “Hello World!

  1. Brandon, that was absolutely wonderful! I love how you explain it, and prioritse exercising of faith over food. While what we put in the “temple” is highly important, remembering the sacrifice of our Lord and Saviour is even moreso. Thanks so much for doing this!

  2. I am a Christian and new to the paleo diet. I hate to say diet because I intend to make it a life style. I agree with the reconcilation of faith and this way of eating. Good blog.

Leave a Reply

